Student travel awards

CMS 2024 Travel Grant Deadline Thursday, February 1, 2024

 (CMS Membership is not required) 


The travel award program is designed to provide partial financial support for students to attend the annual meeting of The Clay Minerals Society to present results of their research.

Travel awards may not be used to support travel to other scientific meetings.


Applications will be judged on a competitive basis. Applicants selected will be nominated by a five-member CMS committee and approved by the CMS Council. There are no restrictions with regard to nationality, gender or age. CMS Membership is not required.  Students may apply for both the Research Grant and travel award in one year. Students may receive no more than a total of two Travel Awards (note: 2020 virtual travel awards will NOT count towards this total) and two research grants. The applicant with the highest-ranked award application, as determined by the Travel Awards Committee, will be the recipient of the Blair F. Jones/Jane M. Flinn Travel Award. The award includes a certificate and an extra $500.


Each applicant must complete a Travel Award Application that is available in hardcopy from the CMS Office or as a Download.

The applicant must obtain a 1 page letter from his/her advisor.

Travel Award applicants must submit their abstract to the meeting organizers as well as the CMS office!

Use of Funds

Travel Awards can be requested for up to $1000 per award for intracontinental travel or $1500 for intercontinental travel (travel from mainland USA to Hawai’i counts as ‘intercontinental’ travel for the 2024 meeting). Funds can be used to pay for: (1) meeting registration at the student rate, (2) field trip(s) that are part of the meeting, (3) CMS banquet ticket, (4) pre-meeting workshop, (5) travel, and (6) lodging. Expenses for meals (except for the CMS banquet) cannot be claimed. Travel funds will be reimbursed during or after the meeting for which the funds were requested. Reimbursement requests will require receipts to document expenses. Only allowable costs actually incurred will be reimbursed, up to the maximum amount awarded to the individual. (For example, if travel costs are less than originally anticipated, reimbursement will be for the actual travel costs, not the amount originally requested.)

Travel Award funds will be distributed to students at the annual banquet. Attendance at the banquet is required.

2023 CMS Travel Awardees

Oluwaseun Adeyemi, Univ. of Georgia, Athens, GA, USA, Maria Arizaleta, Univ. of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, Anthony Boxleiter, Georgia State Univ., Atlanta, GA, USA, Kevin Byerly, Texas Tech Univ., Lubbock, TX, USA, Emily Doyle, Texas Tech Univ., Lubbock, TX, USA, Hunter Green, Texas Tech Univ., Lubbock, TX, USA, Anna Jedras, AGH Univ. of Sci & Tech, Krakow, Poland, Nadine Kanik, Inst of Geological Sciences, PAS, Warsaw, Poland (Blair Jones/Jane Flynn Awardee for highest scoring Travel Grant),  Nur Nizam, Univ. Teknologi MARA, Negeri Sembilan Branch, Malaysia, and Jonathan Smolen, Univ. of Connecticut Newton, CT., USA

2022 CMS Travel Awardees

Luka Badurina, Texas Tech University, USA, Yuqing Bai, Comenius University of Bratislava, Slovak Republic, Amal Kanti Deb, University of Newcastle, Australia, Bidemi Fashina, Texas A&M, USA, Anna Jedras, AGH University of Sci & Tech, Krakow, Poland, Chia-Wei Lin, Texas A&M, USA, Xinxin Mo, Nanjing University, China, Chiemena Okorafor, University of Lagos, Nigeria, Jonathan Smolen, University of Connecticut, USA, Sen Wang, Queensland University of Technology, Australia, Maggie White, (Blair Jones/Jane Flynn Awardee for highest scoring Travel Grant), Newcastle University, UK, Himanshu Yadav, Indian Institute of Tech Guwahati, India, Chaoyun Ying, Huazhong Agricultural University, China


Due to the COVID pandemic there was no 2021 meeting.

2020 CMS Travel Awardees

(No picture available meeting held online only via PNNL)

Harry Brooksbank – Newcastle University, UK – Highest ranking Travel Grant receives the Blair Jones/Jane Flynn Award. Ethan Coffin – Miami University – USA, Amal Kanti Deb – University of Newcastle, Australia, Silvina A. Di Pietro – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA, Nadine Kanik – Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland. Malgorzata Lempart – Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland, Xinxin Mo – Nanjing University, China, Aditi Pandey – Texas A&M University, USA, Xinyi Shen – Princeton University, USA, Jordan Stanberry – University of Central Florida, USA, Maggie White – Newcastle University, UK, Pawel P. Ziemianski – Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland, Sean Zigah – Georgia State University, USA

2019 CMS Travel Awardees

Awardees in Alphabetical Order: Myriam Agnel, Mary Arenberg, Paolo Benavides, Zachary Burton, Nirrit Cohen, Ahmad Khan, Lior Levy, Ying Li, Mouafon Mohamed, Xinyi Shen, Magdalena Tuchowska, Kh Ashraf Uz-Zaman, Doriana Vinci, Jennifer Willemsen, Yael Zvulunov (Highest ranking Student Travel Grant Blair Jones/Jane Flinn Award)
Presented: JUNE 2019 THE CMS Annual Meeting, Euroclay, Paris, France.