George W. Brindley Clay Science Lecture

Application Deadline TBA

Award Description

The G. W. Brindley Clay Science Lecture of The Clay Minerals Society recognizes a clay scientist who will infuse the Society with new ideas, someone who is both a dynamic speaker and involved in innovative research. Dr. Brindley himself approved the concept of the Lecture, and the speaker should deliver a lecture that Brindley himself would applaud.

The Brindley lecturer will also have the opportunity to present a public talk designed to broaden and advance ideas in clay science. The target audiences include groups of 20 or larger assembled at a public forum, such as colloquia held at colleges/universities, special events, or at societal meetings not normally focused on clay science. The subject is at the discretion of the Brindley Lecturer; its content should be crafted in a way to reach a broad range of scientific interests, beyond Clay Science.

Nomination Guidelines

The nomination shall consist of a nominating letter from the nominator, the resume of the nominee, and two supporting letters solicited by the nominator. The nomination letter should summarize the major accomplishments and contributions of the nominee to clay minerals science, and explain why the nominee is especially well qualified to be the George W. Brindley Clay Science Lecturer.

Nominating materials must be received by the Awards Committee Chair by e-mail no later than TBA

Submit the nomination package to:

Professor Joseph W. Stucki
Awards Committee Chair
Phone: 217-333-9636


The Awardee will be selected by the CMS Awards Committee and approved by the CMS Council.  The decision of the Council will be announced at the 2024 Annual Meeting. At the discretion of the CMS Awards Committee, an unsuccessful candidate for the Award may be renominated the next year.  A nominee will only be considered for three consecutive years, unless an extension is granted by the Awards Committee.


The Award will be presented at the 2025 Annual Meeting of The Clay Minerals Society, at which the Awardee is expected to present a plenary lecture on the subject for which he/she is being recognized. The Brindley Lecturer should also seek opportunities to present in other venues a public talk designed to broaden and advance ideas in clay science.

Award Amount and Expenses

The CMS will pay up to $1,000 in travel expenses to the 2025 Annual Meeting. The local organizing committee will provide conference registration and lodging accommodations. CMS will also pay up to $3,000 toward expenses to give public lectures during the year following the Award presentation.

Latest Recipient

Awardee: Dr. Prakash Malla
Presented: The CMS 2024 Annual Meeting, Honolulu, Hawaii
Affiliation: Retired (Thiele Kaolin Company)

Lecture Title: “Transition from Expandable to Non-Expandable Clays via Nanoporous Materials”

Past Recipients

1984 – Walter Keller
1985 – J. J. Fripiat
1986 – Ralph E. Grim
1987 – S. W. Bailey
1988 – M. L. Jackson
1989 – W. D. Johns
1990 – Alain Baronnet
1991 – Thomas J. Pinnavaia
1992 – Philip Low
1993 – Dennis D. Eberl

1994 – R. C. Reynolds, Jr.
1995 – Gerhard Lagaly
1996 – Samuel M. Savin
1997 – Paul H. Nadeau
1998 – Bruce Velde
1999 – Richard Eggleton
2000 – D. M. Moore
2001 – Robert Schoonheydt
2002 – David L. Bish
2003 – Alain Manceau

2005 – Maria F. Brigatti
2008 – Robert Gilkes
2009 – M. F. Hochella Jr
2010 – Randall T. Cygan
2013 – Andrey Kalinichev
2017 – Sridhar Komarneni
2018 – Cliff T. Johnston
2019 – Bruno Lanson
2020 – No Award Made

2021 – No award Made
2022 – Lynda B. Williams
2023 – No Award Made
2024 – Prakash B. Malla