The Clay Minerals Society Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Distinguished Member Award

Application Deadline Wednesday, March 1, 2024

Award Description

The Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Award — the highest honor of The Clay Minerals Society (CMS) — is awarded solely for scientific eminence in clay mineralogy (in its broadest sense) as evidenced primarily by the publication of outstanding original scientific research and by the impact of this research on the clay sciences. Service to clay mineralogy, teaching, and administrative accomplishments are not considered in the evaluation of nominees.

This Award, endowed by Linda and David Bailey, replaces The Clay Mineral Society’s Distinguished Member Award, and Distinguished Members (see below) are therefore not eligible for the Bailey Award. This Award is not restricted to members of CMS.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations for the Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Award consist of a cover letter and supporting letters outlining the candidate’s qualifications in light of the criteria above. Effective nominating material may include a discussion of the nature and significance of the nominee’s research; the extent of the nominee’s publication record; the impact of the nominee’s research as evidenced by measures such as number and nature of citations, other awards, etc. (Supporting letters should be solicited by the primary nominator.)

It would be useful if nomination packages are standardized to follow a similar format to ensure fair comparisons among nominees. We recommend that the nomination package include:

  • Letter addressed to the Bailey Award Committee Chair from the nominator, formally submitting the person’s name for consideration
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Three letters of support of the nomination, solicited by the nominator

Nominating materials must be received by the committee chair no later than Tuesday, March 1, 2024. Submit the nomination package to:

Joe Studki, Committee Chair

The Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Award Committee will evaluate nominations and recommend an awardee to the CMS Council. The decision of the Council will be announced at the annual meeting, and presentation of the Marilyn and Sturges W. Bailey Award will made at the following Annual Meeting.

Selection: The Awardee is selected by the CMS Awards committee and approved by the CMS Council.  At the discretion of the CMS Awards Committee, an unsuccessful candidate for the award may be nominated the next year.  A nominee will only be considered for three consecutive years, unless an extension is granted by the Awards Committee.

Expectations: The Awardee will be presented the award at the Annual Meeting of The Clay Minerals Society and will present a plenary lecture on the subject for which he/she is being recognized.

Award Amount and Expenses: The CMS will pay an honorarium and travel expenses specified in the letter sent. The local Organizing Committee will provide conference registration and hotel lodging.

Current Recipient

Awardee: Dr. Randall T. Cygan
Presented:The CMS 2023 Annual Meeting, Austin, Texas
Affiliation: Retired, Sandia National Laboratory
Lecture Title: “The Very Model of a Modern Major Mineral-Molecular Simulation and the Advancement of Clay Mineralogy”

Past winners

1968 – Ralph E. Grim
1969 – C. S. Ross
1970 – Paul F. Kerr
1971 – Walter D. Keller
1972 – G. W. Brindley
1975 – William F. Bradley
1975 – Sturges W. Bailey
1975 – Jose J. Fripiat
1977 – M. L. Jackson
1979 – Toshio Sudo
1980 – Haydn H. Murray
1984 – C. Edmund Marshall
1985 – Charles E. Weaver
1988 – Max M. Mortland
1989 – R. C. Reynolds, Jr.
1990 – Joe L. White

1990 – John Hower
1991 – Joe B. Dixon
1992 – Philip F. Low
1993 – Thomas J. Pinnavaia
1995 – W. D. Johns
1996 – Victor A. Drits
1997 – Udo Schwertmann
1998 – Brij L. Sawhney
2000 – Boris Zvyagin
2001 – Keith Norrish
2002 – Gerhard Lagaly
2004 – Benny K. G. Theng
2005 – M. Jeff Wilson
2006 – Frederick J. Wicks
2007 – No Award Made
2008 – Norbert Clauer

2009 – Joseph W Stucki
2010 – J. M. Serratosa
2011 – Sridhar Komarneni
2012 – Akihiko Yamagishi
2013 – Stephen Guggenheim
2015 – James Kirkpatrick
2016 – Lisa Heller-Kallai
2018 – Gordon “Jock” Churchman
2019 – Dennis “Denny” Eberl
2020 – Eduardo Ruiz-Hitzky
2021 – David L. Bish

2022 – Jin-Ho Choy

2023 – Randall T. Cygan