4th RC Competition

The fourth Reynolds Cup was organized by the winner of Reynolds Cup III, Chevron, USA (Douglas McCarty) and Edwin Zeelmaekers (K.U.Leuven, Belgium) and saw 53 individual scientists or teams from 17 countries competing for the Cup. First place went to Steve Hillier (Macaulay Institute, Scotland) who won by a large margin. Oladipo Omotoso (CANMET, Canada) and Reinhard Kleeberg & Kristian Ufer (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, Germany) tied for second place. Four entries tied for third place: Katja Emmerich & Annett Steudel (University of Karlsruhe, Germany), Steve Chipera (Chesapeake Energy Corporation, USA), Dennis Eberl & Alex Blum (USGS Boulder, USA) and Mark Raven (CSIRO, Australia). All top-contenders were presented commemorative plaques and Steve Hillier received the coveted Reynolds Cup trophy. The Reynolds Cup will continue its tradition in 2010 and its 5th edition will be organized by the current winner Steve Hillier.

Steve Hillier is leader of the X-ray Diffraction section at The Macaulay Institute. He is a mineralogist by training with extensive experience and research publications in the field of quantitative analysis by X-ray powder diffraction. Clay minerals are his speciality but he also has a broad knowledge of the analysis of a diverse range of polycrystalline materials, including rocks soils, drillng muds, corrosion products and cements.